Intro into JavaScript


JavaScript is an extremely powerful programming language. You can use it to:

All modern web browsers (ex: Google Chrome, FireFox, Safari) support using JavaScript. Consequently, many web sites use to JavaScript to make their pages more interactive.

Data Types

JavaScript has 7 different types of data types. Six of these data types are primitive. These six are referred to as primitive values or primitive data types. Primitive data types are the lowest level of the programming language. The list below contains all 6 primitive data types in JavaScript.

  1. Boolean
  2. Null
  3. Undefined
  4. Number
  5. String
  6. Symbol (ES6)

The seventh data type is called an Object, but it not a primitive data type.